An Introduction

Welcome to “52 Treats I Can Eat!” As a brief introduction, I can’t say that I have always been a cook or even had a profound interest in cooking and baking. In fact, I still don’t think I can claim being a good cook, but hopefully we can all grow together in this process! When my husband, Stephen, and I were first given the diagnosis that our son had a milk, egg, nut and sweet potato allergy we did what most parents do. We questioned why, how and what in the world we were going to do now that we had to completely alter our diets and prepare to feed a child with many dietary restrictions. It isn’t as easy as just removing a few jars of peanut butter from the pantry and feeding our child rice or soy milk rather than cow’s milk. Grocery shopping became more tedious and detailed than I ever imagined it could be. Eating out at restaurants now warrants talks with the chef, and reading not only a dinner menu, but an allergy free menu, as well.

More and more children are being born these days with food allergies and intolerances and it saddens me beyond belief. One thing I have learned since the food allergy diagnoses is that the food allergic community is one of the most supportive and understanding communities around! Since the diagnosis two years ago, I have felt compelled to do SOMETHING. I didn’t know what that something was, but I have prayed about it and thought long and hard about how I could make a difference in someone’s life who was going through a similar experience with their child or a loved one who has been diagnosed with a food allergy. As I talked to a good friend today over lunch, it hit me. I wanted to start a blog. (You have to start small, right?) We tossed ideas around and came up with the idea of “52 Treats I Can Eat” in an effort for me to try new recipes that are allergy safe AND taste good. Let’s face it. If you have made any attempts at cooking allergy free, chances are that you have made some “treats” that taste more like cardboard than cookies.  I want to use this blog to account for the new recipes that I try, along with reviews from Caleb as “Do it again, Mommy!”  or “That’s Yucky!” (We will all keep our fingers crossed that we get more yummy reviews than yucky!) I have many go-to recipes already, and I will also highlight them and point you to my favorite sites and blogs along the way. I will also list some quick pre-packaged foods for when you are in a rush and need to make a quick run to the grocery store. In fact, there is a running tab up at the top of the home page where you can find this list. Many items were what I turned to when we first found out about the allergies in our family and I hope that those of you with a recent diagnosis can also find the list helpful.

So that is me in a nut-shell. (A soy-nut shell, of course!) I hope you enjoy reading my blog each week and I hope that we can all grow together throughout this journey of living with food allergies. It is my hope that one day, my blog can be completely shut down and food allergies will be non-existent. Until then, I will continue my cooking and baking. Who knows? Maybe by the end of this first year, I can create some of my very own recipes!?! Maybe, just maybe, I will one day be able to refer to myself as an actual cook. (Insert the chuckles from my husband here…) 🙂

This entry was posted in Allergy Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Introduction

  1. Lana says:

    I look forward to seeing all 52 treats! My little boy is also milk, egg and nut allergic so I loooooove finding new recipes for all of us to eat. I’ve added your blog to my blogroll too. Yay!

  2. Thanks Lana! I think I am really going to enjoy this project! Thanks for adding me!

Leave a Reply

