Chewy Chocolate Coconut Cookies

This week, I tried another family recipe and tweaked it to make it allergy friendly. It originally called for nuts, and rather than just omitting them, I decided to replace the nuts with coconuts. (Frequently asked question….Are coconuts tree nuts? Are they safe for my tree nut allergic child? The answer is no, they are not considered tree nuts. While people can have an allergy to coconut, they should be safe for a tree nut allergic child. As with any new food, always try it in a small amount first if you are unsure.)

Chewy Chocolate Coconut Cookies

2 1/2 sticks of butter or margarine, softened (I use Fleishmann’s Unsalted)
2 c. granulated sugar
1 individual serving of unsweetened applesauce (just over 1/4 of a cup)
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 c. cocoa
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. coconut flakes

Preheat oven to 35o°. Cream butter or margarine and sugar in a large bowl. Add applesauce and vanilla, blend well. Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; blend into creamed mixture. Stir in the coconut and drop by spoonfulls onto ungreased cookie sheet. (tip: I always line cookie sheets with parchment paper…easier clean up!) Bake 10 minutes. Cookies will be soft, they will puff during baking and flatten upon cooling. Cool on cookie sheet. Yield 4 dozen. (I made larger cookies, thus making less than 4 dozen)

These cookies turned out to taste really yummy! I think my texture was off and they needed baking longer than the recipe calls for. ALSO, next time, I will try only using 2 sticks of butter, as these were a little bit greasy. Thumbs up for the taste, but I remain neutral for the texture. I WILL be making these again with my tweaks. If you try them, let me know what you think. Comments are always appreciated!

Sorry for the lack of a picture this week. We ate them too fast! 🙂

This entry was posted in Allergy Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

