Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Sloppy Joe Biscuit Cups

This week I opted for a dinner treat instead of something sweet. I have had a bag of Daiya Vegan Shredded cheese that I wanted to try in a recipe, so when I came across a version of this recipe on the Pillsbury website I knew I had to try it out! I am so glad that I did. I had to tweak the recipe to make it safe for our family, but we all loved it and will be filing it in the recipe box to make again! Enjoy!

Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Sloppy Joe Biscuit Cups

1 lb lean ground beef
1/4 cup chopped onion
2 cloves of garlic – finely chopped
1/4 c. chopped red bell pepper (for color – we just used green from our garden!)
1/4 c. ketchup
1 tespoon Worcestershire sauce (I added a little more because I love the flavor!)
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 can of Kroger Brand buttermilk biscuits (my favorite find from a couple of weeks ago -be sure to check the label!)
1/2 cup Daiya Shredded Cheese

Heat oven to 375°F. Cook beef, onion, garlic and bell pepper over medium-high heat until beef is thoroughly cooked; drain. Stir in ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, pepper and brown sugar.

Separate dough into 10 biscuits; place each biscuit in ungreased regular-size muffin cups. Firmly press dough in bottom and up side of each cup, forming 1/4-inch rim.

Spoon about 1/3 cup beef mixture into dough-lined cups. Sprinkle each biscuit with 1 tablespoon shredded cheese.

Bake 17 to 20 minutes or until biscuits are golden brown and cheese is melted.

On a side note, I was really pleased with the Daiya product. It was my first time to try it and I will be searching for some more fun ways to use the rest of the bag! Also, no picture this week. We were too hungry! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

