Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Coconut Bread

Ok, so this is last week’s recipe. What can I say? I have been busy. I also wasn’t too excited about posting the recipe because, well, I failed. It turned out dense and heavy….BUT, I think I have tweaked the recipe enough that when I try it again it will be much better. I will say the flavor was right on! If you try the recipe as posted, let me know! I really think this would turn out better than the substitutions I used. (I was trying something with yogurt….and think I used way too much!)

Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Coconut Bread

1/4 cup dairy free margarine, softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup rice milk (or milk substitute of choice)
3/4 cup coconut flakes

Preheat oven to 350° and prepare one loaf pan.

 In a bowl fitted with a paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar. Once combined, add in the vanilla and applesauce. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to sugar mixture alternately with milk. Fold in coconut.

Pour into the prepared pan and sprinkle with sugar (optional). Bake at 350° for 50-55 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy! (and cross your fingers that the density turns out much better than my original substitutions!) 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

