Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Molasses Crinkle Cookies

First of all, let me start off by saying HAPPY NEW YEAR! I hope 2011 is off to a good start for all of you.  My last post, which was WAY too long ago, I told you about our house flood. Can you believe we are still not back in our house yet? Yep, two holidays spent outside of our house. In light of being in a different house, we still had a wonderful holiday season filled with lots of laughter, love and new memories. We should hopefully be back in our house next weekend (fingers crossed!). That will really help me with keeping up with recipes. I have missed my kitchen and all my “stuff,” so it will be really good to get home!

That being said, I did make some delicious cookies that I wanted to share with you. Over the Holidays I picked up some molasses to make gingerbread (which also turned out great!) and on the back was a recipe for “Grandma’s Molasses Cookies.”  My husband begged me to make them, so I finally obliged and tweaked it so Caleb could also eat them. OMG.  I have a new favorite cookie recipe! Again, it is adapted from the back of the Grandma’s Molasses jar. I hope you will enjoy!

Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Molasses Crinkle Cookies

3/4 cup softened shortening
1 c. light brown sugar (packed)
1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/4 c. molasses
2 1/4 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger
white sugar

In a mixer, combine shortening, brown sugar, applesauce and molasses. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, cloves, cinnamon and ginger. Add to your wet mixture and chill.

Preheat oven to 375°. Roll dough into balls the size of walnuts and dip tops into your reserved white sugar. Place sugar side up on baking sheet. To create your cracked surface, drip 2-3 drops of water on top of the cookie balls. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Attempt to let cookies cool, then eat and enjoy! (I can never get to the “cooled” part before diving in!) 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Molasses Crinkle Cookies

  1. Vera Zakher says:

    I have a great brownie recipe on my website for kids with food allergies such as eggs, milk, nuts and peanuts. Let me know if you like them. I am trying to find how to post them on this website.
    Thank you,
    Vera Zakher

  2. Bev says:

    I hope you have all recovered from the flood now!

    Those cookies look fab and as my son shares these allergies I shall have to try them out with him and of course a few might make it to my mouth too! ;o)

    • As you can probably tell by the lack of posts (I am HORRIBLE, I tell you!) we are still unpacking and cleaning up. I am just about there in terms of getting back to regular posts and feeling more at ease with everything being unpacked at the house!

Leave a Reply

