Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Icing

Let me tell you. I have found a new favorite cupcake!! My son’s class celebrated Dr. Seuss’ birthday last week. I, of course, quickly jumped at the chance to bring in some cupcakes for the class. This time, with a new twist on the class treat. One other child in his class now has an intolerance to food dyes. Being the mom of a food allergic child, the thought of sending in cupcakes with food coloring was never even considered. I know how my child feels when he gets left out of an event, and I sure was not going to allow that to happen to another child! Yes, I could have gone crazy with the color for these, but I am actually thankful that I didn’t! It lead me to try something new….LEMON CUPCAKES! I cannot even begin to tell you how fast these cupcakes were eaten in our house. It made 28 cupcakes, there are 8 kids in his class and they were gone by Saturday night! Two days! Really!?? I hope you will enjoy these cupcakes just as much as we did!

Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Lemon Cupcakes (and Dye-free, too!)

1 c. Fleischmann’s Unsalted margarine, softened
2 c. sugar
1 single serve container of unsweetened applesauce (between 1/4 and 1/2 cup)
2 t. grated lemon peel
1 t. vanilla extract
3 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
2 c. Tofutti Sour Cream

In a mixing bowl fitted with a paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar together. Beat in applesauce, lemon peel and vanilla extract; mix well.

Combine dry ingredients. Add to creamed mixture alternately with Tofutti Sour Cream. (Batter will become thick – this is ok!)

Fill muffin cups with 1/4 c. of batter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes then remove from pans and allow to cool completely on wire racks before icing.

NOTE: These cupcakes are not overbearing with the lemon peel and would be excellent topped with any of your favorite icing. You may even just omit the lemon peel for a delicious vanilla cupcake!

Dairy, Egg, Nut and Dye-Free Lemon Cupcake Icing

4 T Fleischmann’s Unsalted margarine
2 1/4 c. confectioners sugar
2 T. freshly squeezed lemon juice
3/4. t vanilla extract
1/4 t. grated lemon peel

Cream butter and sugar in a small mixing bowl. Add lemon juice, vanilla and lemon peel. Beat until smooth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment